March 2018 Newsletter

Leavenworth Bass Club

Newsletter and General Membership Meeting Minutes


March 5th, 2018


2018 Officers


President Bob Greene (913)-240-4474
Vice-President Randy Kenton (913)-927-6777
Treasurer Ken Hackworth (913)-240-4884
Secretary Bill Horvath (913)-306-1110
Webmaster Brent Goss (913)-775-2063
Youth Committee Bill Horvath (913)-306-1110
Conservation Director Eric Verburg (719)-332-1052
Members at Large Ray Cates (816)-588-8351
Members at Large Stephen Smith (785)-304-0587
Tournament  Director Mark Luna (913)-683-0230
Tournament Committee Mike Brooks (913)-680-8721
Tournament Committee Ray Cates (816)-588-8351
Tournament Committee Dennis Edwards (913)-683-3195
Tournament Committee Bill Gevedon (913)-306-4198
Tournament Committee Bob Greene (913)-240-4474
Tournament Committee Bob Jorgensen (913)-683-1708
Tournament Committee Danny Lee (913)-683-2855
Tournament Committee Larry Stoafer (913)-240-5254


The next club meeting will be April 2nd.


The website is located at the following address:  if you need assistance signing up for the forum, contact the webmaster.


Welcome: The Leavenworth Bass Club held its monthly meeting on March 5th at the Ft Leavenworth Rod and Gun Club.  There were 21 members present. The President called the meeting to order at 7:00 pm.


Secretary Report:  

  • The February 2018 newsletter was emailed to all current members and posted on the web site. The Secretary’s report was approved as read.
  • Ray Hillebrand has disabled the web site forum due to the high number of spammers trying to register and get into our forum. If you are not registered and want the ability to post on the web site, contact Ray and he can help. You can read anything on the forum but can’t post unless you are registered.


Treasurer Report:  LBC checking account beginning balance is $5,551.60 and the ending balance is $3,997.86 The Fishing For Freedom beginning balance is $13,250.81and the ending balance is $14,640.81. Pay Pal account has $96.80. The Treasurer’s report was approved as read.


Conservation Committee Report:  Eric has it setup to put the fish structure in Banner Creek on March 10th, Show time is 8:30. At the meeting he said he has enough bodies and boat support.


Youth Director Report:

  • The trolling motor raffle was held last week at the NWMSU fishing club meeting and the lucky dog who won was Steve Henry.
  • The next Bearcat Open is scheduled at Mozingo for April 14th, unfortunately the same weekend of our Stockton tournament. If any members want to fish it, contact me for details.


Banquet Committee: Mike Brooks said we had a banquet and we will have another one next year.


Webmaster Report: Brent has added the latest newsletter and roster, plus made several corrections. Thanks, Brent.


Vice President Report: None.


President Report:   Bob complimented the folks who volunteered to help with Eric’s conservation project.


Fishing for Freedom:  None


Old Business:  None


New Business:  Steve Read announced he hopes to have the new club jerseys in time for the Lake of the Ozarks tournament. The price, to includes prorated shipping is:

Long Sleeve  – $51.75

Short Sleeve – $48.00


New Members:  None


New Equipment Report:  The new scales have been ordered.


Outside Activities: Ray Cates is at the BASS Nation Central Regional at Toledo Bend in LA. He is in 46th place on the co-angler side as of day 1. You can check the standings at:



Alibis:  Lou Engler brought in some of his custom made plug knockers and offered them to the members present. Thanks Lou !!!


Tournament Director:

Lake of the Ozarks Tournament

Take off is 6:30 or safe light on Saturday, 6:45 on Sunday. Weigh in is at Shawnee Bend  Ramp, 3:00 both days

Trailering is allowed


BOAT Lake of the Ozarks (24 March 2018) Lake of the Ozarks (25 March 2018)
# Boater Co Angler Boater Co Angler
1 Carl Chasteen   Garrett Cates  
2 Randy Kenton   Greg Oehring  
3 Rich Pearl   Jeff Sell  
4 Bill Gevedon   Jonathan Hester  
5 Dennis Edwards   Bill Horvath  
6 Bob Jorgensen   Eric Verburg  
7 Brent Goss   Mark Luna  
8 Bob Greene   Mike Brooks  
9 Steve Read   Steve Read  
10 Mike Brooks   Bob Greene  
11 Mark Luna   Brent Goss  
12 Eric Verburg   Bob Jorgensen  
13 Bill Horvath   Dennis Edwards  
14 Jonathan Hester   Bill Gevedon  
15 Jeff Sell   Rich Pearl  
16 Greg Oehring   Randy Kenton  
17 Garrett Cates   Carl Chasteen  


The free tournament entry was won by Steve Read


There being no further official business, the meeting was adjourned at 7:30


Larry Stoafer gave another one of his outstanding overviews or what, where and how to fish at LOZ.  There will be no excuse for not bringing in a 5 fish, 20 lb limit per angler.


SUBMITTED BY:                                          APPROVED BY:


//s//                                                                  //S//

Bill Horvath                                                   Bob Greene

Secretary                                                       President


Speak Your Mind


The LBC web page will be going down periodically between 2000 hrs 23 July and 0800 hrs 24 July for maintenance. Thanks for understanding....