July 2019 Minutes

Leavenworth Bass Club

Newsletter and General Membership Meeting Minutes

July 1st, 2019

2019 Officers

President Bob Greene (913)-240-4474
Vice-President Mike Brooks (913)-680-8721
Treasurer Ken Hackworth (913)-240-4884
Secretary Bill Horvath (913)-306-1110
Webmaster Ray Hillebrand (913)-683-0500
Youth Committee Bill Horvath (913)-306-1110
Conservation Director Eric Verburg (719)-332-1052
Members at Large Ray Cates (816)-588-8351
Members at Large Stephen Smith (785)-304-0587
Tournament Director Mark Luna (913)-683-0230
Tournament Committee Mike Brooks (913)-680-8721
Tournament Committee Ray Cates (816)-588-8351
Tournament Committee Dennis Edwards (913)-683-3195
Tournament Committee Bill Gevedon (913)-306-4198
Tournament Committee Bob Greene (913)-240-4474
Tournament Committee Bob Jorgensen (913)-683-1708
Tournament Committee Danny Lee (913)-683-2855
Tournament Committee Larry Stoafer (913)-240-5254

The next club meeting will be Monday, August 5th

The website is located at the following address: http://theleavenworthbassclub.org/ If you need assistance signing up for the forum, contact the webmaster.


  • The Leavenworth Bass Club held their meeting on July 1st at the Ft Leavenworth Rod and Gun Club.  There were 20 members present. The President called the meeting to order at 7:00 pm.

Secretary Report:

  • The newsletter for the June 17th was not completed in time for this meeting.

Treasurer Report: 

  • LBC checking account beginning balance was $$8,010.26 and the ending balance is $7,746.26. The Fishing for Freedom account beginning balance was $$20,778.45 and the ending balance is $27,232.44. The Pay Pal account has $265.82.
  • A motion was made to accept the Treasurer’s report as read, motion seconded and was approved by majority vote.

Conservation Committee Report: No report.

Youth Director Report:

  • The Leavenworth County Commissioners Kids Fishing Derby was held at Happy Hollow Lake on June 22nd. Thanks to Steve Read and Brent Goss for helping measure and record fish.
  • The Olathe Kid’s Fishing Derby was held on June 15th and thanks to Bill Gevedon & Stephen Smith for helping.

Banquet Committee:  Mike has scheduled the banquet for January 25th, 2020.

Webmaster Report:  Webmaster was not in attendance. President requested that the TD send the current tournament schedule to the Webmaster for posting. The 2018 schedule is still up.

Vice President Report: No report.

President Report:

·         Bob thanked the tournament committee for putting together the Table Rock event, originally scheduled for Hudson but cancelled due to the high water there.
  • Bob discussed the MOBASS state tournament and asked for a team captain volunteer. The next meeting of MOBASS will be on September 14th.

Fishing for Freedom: No report.

Old Business: Nothing to report.

New Business: Nothing to report.

New Members:  None.

New Equipment Report:  Nothing to report.

Outside Activities: None

Alibis: Mark asked if we could buy new weigh-in bags for next year. The treasurer said there is enough money in the budget to buy whatever we needed.

Tournament Director:

Table Rock, Saturday, June 22nd, 2019
1st Rich Pearl 5 13.36 Spook, flipping brush, Z Craw
2nd Bob Jorgensen 4 7.48 Jigs on brush & points
3rd Bob Greene 3 5.98 Finesse jigs, Senko
4th Randy Kenton 2 4.93  
5th Frank Carroll 2 4.63 Spook, Rock Crawler
1st Rich Pearl 4.80  
2nd Randy Kenton 3.13
1st Casey Witt 2.44  
2nd Ray Cates 2.30
Table Rock, Sunday, June 23rd, 2019
1st Rich Pearl 5 13.07  
2nd Hayes Edwards 5 12.02 Rock Crawlers
3rd Dennis Edwards 5 10.69 Rock Crawlers
4th Steve Clark 5 10.30 Rock Crawlers
5th Danny Lee 5 10.13 Zoom worms, finesse jigs
Big Bass
1st Rich Pearl 3.28  
2nd Steve Clark 2.44
1st Danny Lee 3.35  
2nd Hayes Edwards 2.31

The next tournament will be at Mozingo. Take off was originally scheduled for 6:00 am but changed by the tournament committee to 5:45, and the weigh-in at the main ramp (south) at 2:00

Reminder about the No-CULL rule.

Bring Ice to cool the water in the live wells.

Saturday, July 20th, 2019

BOAT # Boater Co Angler
1 Mark Luna John Matthews
2 Danny Lee Frank Carroll
3 Jim Wyatt Bill Horvath
4 Randy Kenton Mark Stadel
5 Steve Read Hayes Edwards
6 Dennis Edwards Jason Bryant
7 Bob Greene Ray Cates
8 Rich Pearl  
9 Eric Verburg  
10 Jeff Sell  
11 Larry Stoafer  
12 Mike Brooks  
13 Ken Dawson  
14 Bob Jorgensen  
15 Brent Goss  
16 Bill Gevedon  
17 Garrett Cates  
18 Ken Hackworth  

Thanks to Mike Brooks for the door prizes. The club account is $59 bucks richer.

The free tournament entry was won by Bill Gevedon.

There being no further official business, the meeting was adjourned at 7:43

Larry led a discussion on the issues affecting summertime bass fishing. Another great topic.

SUBMITTED BY:                                           APPROVED BY:

//s//                                                                  //S//

Bill Horvath                                                   Bob Greene

Secretary                                                       President

Speak Your Mind


The LBC web page will be going down periodically between 2000 hrs 23 July and 0800 hrs 24 July for maintenance. Thanks for understanding....